A Myomectomy Experience – Philippines (kinda long entry)

It was difficult for me to find personal entries of Myomectomy  in the Philippines.  Prior to my operation I googled galore trying to find ideas how this Myomectomy procedure is in the Philippines. I have a previous post about Myoma and this is my actual experience.

February 5, 2013

I was scheduled to be admitted a day before my operation which was scheduled to be the next day (February 6, 2013 at 7:00AM).  We traveled to my parent’s house in Valenzuela to leave our daughter there for a couple of days.  My husband took a leave for a week, He promised he’ll be my Nanny.  When we got back to the city we traveled further south to Makati Medical Center.  It was 4:00PM, we thought we can drop by the dental clinic of one of my best friend’s.  OJ wanted to get his teeth clean, when we arrived my friend Rhett was still working with a patient so we decided to eat first.  Eating and ordering a big fat sirloin burger was the biggest mistake I had done in years.  More on this later.

We went back to Dr. Rhett’s clinic and my hubby got his teeth fixed. Oh and he also made some permanent fillings.

Image

OJ and his blue light!

When we arrived at the hospital to check in at around 8:00PM, the admitting staff asked for my name.  We had made a reservation a week before. We also chose a room type (Small Private).  It was a different experience to be assisted in a major hospital like Makati Med.  The admitting officer handed me my welcome kit and we we’re whisked away to our little room at the 5th floor.

Room 521

Image

Small private only has the above seen amenities. No refrigerator but the long john was comfortable enough to sleep in.

Image

Clean !

ImageFunny shower.  For the heat to come out of the shower, you have to open even the faucet.

Image

Don’t worry may TV naman. Kind of maliit but Ok narin. You also have cabinets to store your items.

Image

Admission kit was placed inside the room. They also had some welcome materials for informational reading.

Image

My CR Kit. Cute sya!  By the way the pillows are to be brought home.

Our room was pegged at around 4,200+ per night. ( No windows)

Once we we’re settled in, the Nurses and Residents started the interviews. They asked the typical demographics and allergy history. I specifically told them my experience on morphine. It was used during my CS and post op, my face went all crazy on me. I was itching like there’s no tomorrow. I was so drugged too, I couldn’t carry a single conversation and only had a glazed look on my face.

February 6, 2013

At exactly 12:00 midnight a nice young lady came in bearing the joys of an enema. For those not familiar with it, an enema is a procedure where they clean your colon using an enema solution. This is where the Sirloin mistake was forever marked. It took me 2.5 hours to pass the right clarity before they said I was OK. It was the most tiring and traumatizing violation of my down there. So next time I need to undergo an enema 48 hours prior to the procedure all I will eat is soup.

They woke me up at 6:00AM.  It wasn’t the nurse that woke me but a good friend of ours Mervin, it was also his birthday and he wanted to give blood.  It was only at 7AM when the nurses came in to fetch me.  My operation was now scheduled at 8AM. They had me wear the hospital gown. They took me and my bed down the hall to the operating lounge. Yes Makati Med has an operating lounge, parang waiting room. They checked me if I needed shaving (which I didn’t, had my wax a day before). Checked again my vitals and i was off the the actual OR. The nurses placed operating leggings. Hooked me up to different machines. The anesthesiologist came in and asked me about a few things. She then inserted drugs in my IV and the last thing I remember was saying, “oh Doc is that a sedative…i love it! i looove it”. It was like turning the lights off. After a short while I woke up shivering. I felt like my body was literally in shock. I asked the nurses if it was possible to for me have an extra blanket.  The nurse said, “we have an electric blanket , but with additional cost”. I automatically said “no” and was back to my shivering.

I was wheeled back to my room around lunch time, my friend Joy was there with OJ. She donated blood. I couldn’t really move. My whole body felt so heavy. I just lay there, I think I said hi, or smiled a bit but I was just too tired.

The doctor called my husband to her clinic to inform him the surgery went well. I didn’t need to have a transfusion. I wasn’t a bleeder. We will just wait for our biopsy. She also informed him that the mass that was removed is roughly 9cm. larger than a fist.  But she claimed that morphologically speaking it looked benign and there was no need to worry. If you are icky with blood or anything like raw flesh stop reading.ImageThe Myoma.

I stayed in the hospital for the next 3 days. My recovery was good. I did feel really sore but after a few courageous attempts I was able to stand, walk, and just be normal again.

Our total bill was Php 89,000+ just for the operating room, hospital stay and miscellaneous expense, the total amount billable was Php135,000 (which includes the Professional fees, so just deduct).  It was covered by the healthcard insurance which we were very thankful for.

All in all my Makati Medical Center experience was good. I was well taken cared off. But if you are a privately paying patient it is very expensive. The doctors in Makati Med are very well trained, world class. You can truly feel that you are in good hands.

23 thoughts on “A Myomectomy Experience – Philippines (kinda long entry)

  1. Hello Mrs.HuneyFaye. Thank you for sharing your experience with the public. I really appreciate the effort you put into documenting your myomectomy; this is an eye opener and a good, strong basis for my own future operation, seeing as your story is quite current.
    As you may have already guessed, I’m looking to finally go under the knife for the same procedure after years of putting it off. The myoma is a huge bother now because I look like I’m 4 months pregnant, which of course I’m not, and I believe it’s causing me to experience weakness and fatigue. Myomas are greedy little bastards and take all your blood and nutrients for itself!
    I do have some questions though:
    I’ve watched youtube videos of both invasive and laser surgeries for this procedure. Might I ask why an enema and shaving of woman’s bits were necessary for this? I can understand the shaving/waxing part, but the enema just seems a bit overboard. Also, how long did it take you to completely recuperate from the operation?
    I hope you have time to explain this to me. Thanks in advance.
    Charles
    (this is a pseudonym of course)

    1. Hi there! Sorry for the late reply. I have been very busy arranging my life as it is.

      I also asked the doctor why its needed to have an enema. It was really painful and tiresome. Doctor explained it is needed for every major operation for cleanliness purposes. Same thing with the waxing/shaving off the lady bits hair.

    2. Hell Charles10,
      Like you, I am also in the queue. Ive been to 2nd, 3rd, 4th opinions. September 2015 I found out to have 7cm Myoma, tried different Herbal Remedies hoping to make it better, shrink or totally disappear. February 2016 is 2nd Trans-V, it was then 5cm, after that I stoppped taking these Herbal Remedies as I felt it was reacting too slow (Depression, Frustrations). Just recently, July 7, 2016 I had my 3rd Trans-V which then sized to 7.7 x 7.0 x 6.3 cm. Shocked.!! (Sakit sa bangs) .(By the way, am planning to get pregnant, I am 32 y.o) Anyway, Moving on I consulted another OB Dr. Mrinette Sto. Domingo whom I have read few (nice/good) blogs including this of MRS. HUNEYFAYE’S. Brought all my records and Lab Results, She immediately suggested me to go under the knife. She was nice, and I think she knows what she’s doing. I am quiet busy person so I am thinking of doing it on October before I will be assigned back to Cebu.

      How was your Myomectomy went done?
      I am in the process of researching this and that. I know you feel me hehehe..
      I hope to hear from you soon.

      Thank you and God Bless.
      Jocel

      1. You are in good hands with Dr. Marinette! My myomectomy was fairly straight forward, to put it plainly, it was like going through a C-section. She is skilful and your surgery wounds will recover quickly. Good luck!

      2. Hello Huneyfaye,
        Thanks for your reply and encouragement. I have concern now with the PF medjo mahal pala sya, I just found out na 90-95K nalang pwede i cover sa akin ng Health Card ko. Wala pa naman akong pang dagdag.. Naka schedule na ako for Myomectomy this July 26. Pwede kaya makahingi ng discounts sa kanya? hehehe..

        Thank you for your reply.
        God Bless..

      3. Just talk to the doctor and find ways on how you can mutually agree on the fee. Remember this is your health on the line. So better go for reliable MDs 🙂

  2. Hi there thanks for this testimony, it’s helping me and I’m sure others too in dealing with our own conditions. We have similar case (mine is 5.9) and same doctor, who recommended surgery na rin. My question is, the 135k total expense that you quoted, less philhealth na yun? I have no health card and so I really need to know how much to prepare financially.

    Thanks again, your post has been helpful.

    1. The 135k is care of the HMO insurance we have. If you are a privately paying patient, the price of the operation will be higher. If you plan to have your surgery at Makati Med and get a private room prepare 180-200k. I am glad that my testimony helped. Good luck with your surgery and I wish you all the best! Update me on how it goes. 🙂

    2. Hello Wanderwoman,
      Nagpa Opera knba?

      Gusto ko sana makahingi ng comments mo regarding your status if ok lang sayo.

      Thank you
      Jocel

  3. Hi there! This post was very helpful as I can find very little post about myoma here in the Philippines. I was diagnosed with myoma –5.3cm. I’m only 24 yrs old, still Single and doesn’t have kids yet. My main concern is preserving my fertility. Did you have any plans of conceiving a baby after undergoing Myomectomy? Thank you so much in advance 🙂

    1. Hi Celestialgenre, I wanted to have a baby that’s the reason why I went through the procedure. It was becoming very inconvenient. I think a myomectomy when done correctly it will not have any negative effect on your fertility. It is the uterus we are talking about, so better get a good doctor to help you. There is a slight chance that the myoma is difficult to remove and may result to complications. There are other options though, the medical approach where you get injectibles and it will shrink the myoma. Look at your options and I wish you the best of luck!

  4. Hi there! This post was very helpful as I can find very little post about myoma here in the Philippines. I was diagnosed with myoma –5.3cm. I’m only 24 yrs old, still Single and doesn’t have kids yet. My main concern is preserving my fertility. Did you have any plans of conceiving a baby after undergoing Myomectomy? Thank you so much in advance 🙂

  5. Hi, Ms. Faye. May I get your personal email address? I’d like to leave you a private message. I am 25yo with 20cm myoma and I’ve been looking for this kind of post. Thank u so much.

  6. hi huneyfaye. I just had my tvs(ultrasound) this afternoon,confirming my 16cm myoma…and really really bother me a lot! (who would not?). guess,googling my myoma leads this blog.its so scary,but your blog helps me to digest my status and comfort me in a way. dont know if you can read it
    thanks! thanks 🙂

    1. Hi Anne, please do not hesitate to message me if you need anything else. I just returned from a year long hiatus and will definitely check out and publish blogs more often 🙂 What are your next steps?

  7. Hi Huneyfaye! Thanks for your blog it’s very helpful. While I was pregnant I was diagnosed with 2 intramural myomas (OB said it’s too small and no need to worry). After I gave birth, during my first mens, the bleeding was so heavy. I just thought it’s just normal because I didn’t had my period for 9 mos of course. But eventually, it became so heavy that I even need to wear diaper. It’s been 2 years now that I was able to endure that condition. But unfortunately, my CBC result shows a very low hemoglabin and RBC. (86 hemoglabin and 3.00 RBC). So the doctor said I have a severe anemia, from then I realized that the excessive bleeding resulted to anemia. Now I am scheduled for Trans-v this Saturday to see how big is the it. My question is, are there other alternate medications than myomectomy and how is the recovery period? TIA!

Leave a Reply

